VAR review – why Iran got a penalty but Harry Maguire didn’t

We analyze every decision made by VAR throughout the 64 matches of the 2022 World Cup.

After each match, we take a look at the main events to examine and explain the process in terms of the VAR (Video Assistant Referee) protocol and the Laws of the Game.

VAR flops: a penalty for a stone foul on Buraliganji

what happened: In the 10th minute of extra time, Iran was awarded a free kick which went into the area but came to nothing. But the VAR, Uruguayan referee Leodan Gonzalez, was showing off a possible penalty kick.

Video Assistant Referee Decision: Penalty kick scored Mehdi Tarami.

VAR review: It’s the kind of decision fans don’t really like with VAR, due to what appears to be an insignificant incident – especially when a more obvious event earlier in the game doesn’t trigger VAR intervention.

When a free kick is taken inside the penalty area, Murtaza Bouraliganji He went to challenge for the ball but his shirt was pulled John Stones. It was a simple draw and it is questionable if it had any effect on the Iranian defender.

But in the first half, Harry Maguire He appears to have wrestled to the ground Rozebeh Chesmi.

So, what is the difference with the VAR? A major consideration is whether an offensive player is denied the ability to challenge the ball; ergo, would he have had a chance to play ball without the challenge? This is not the only factor, as a penalty can still be awarded, but the VAR will put quite a bit of equity into this.

Added to that Maguire also had his arm around Cesme, which VAR will also factor into.

In the case of Maguire, it was considered that even with Cesme’s offense the ball was not within direct playing distance. So it didn’t stop the England player from competing for the ball.

With Pouraliganji, the ball was shown close to him, meaning that pulling the shirt off Stones was considered to prevent the opponent from challenging the ball.

Match referee Raphael Klaus took a long and hard look at the incident on screen and decided to accept the VAR’s advice. No one would want to see such minor violations punished throughout the tournament. Is it really clear and clear?

game

1:25

Dale Johnson explains why Ecuador ruled out a goal in confusing circumstances in their World Cup opener against Qatar.

The video assistant referee overturned: Valencia’s goal was disallowed for offside

what happened: In the third minute, Ecuador thought they had taken the lead against hosts Qatar Inner Valenciabut there was a lengthy review regarding infiltration.

Video Assistant Referee Decision: Target is not allowed.

VAR review: This was the right decision, although it was not at all obvious to the masses and it took some time to show the 3D visualization.

When the free kick was taken inside the area, the Ecuadorian defender Felix Torres Challenge Qatar goalkeeper Saad Al Sheeb. The ball fell Michael Estradawho sent it to Torres to set up the goal for Valencia.

However, when Torres touched the ball (which direction it goes, forward or backward, it doesn’t matter) Estrada had one foot ahead of the second last defensive player, who was Abdul Karim Hassan.

The check took longer than the usual offside check because the VAR, Tomaz Listkiewicz, was sure the ball had gone off Torres. Without that, Estrada wouldn’t have been a hacker.

The touch of gray before the ball leaves Torres’ head has nothing to do with the offside decision – the stage for every other player’s offside position is determined by Torres’ touch. It is also not important whether the attacking player will mean to play the ball the way he has it or not.

Additional confusion comes from Torres and Alsheeb blocking Estrada, and having another defender closer to the goal. Fans naturally look for the last defender, which can be misleading when the goalkeeper is ahead. There should be two opposing players, usually the goalkeeper and the defender, between the attacker and the goal. In this situation, only one defender was ahead of Estrada; Not only was Al Sheeb the second last defensive player in this situation, but Hassan (whom Torres and Al Sheeb prevented from seeing as well).

It was actually a very simple and obvious offside decision once Torres’ touch was confirmed, and Estrada was clearly ahead of Hassan, but there was a lack of clarity about it for a long time. Even with FIFA’s semi-automated stealth technology, the time it takes for fans to get clear should be improved.

Leave a Comment