He made the slam dunk. And there are not any pictures, as they are saying, within the scorecard, however a five-second video clip struck a chord.
Similar to right here:
And right here:
What is that this?
Technically, that is straightforward! It was a 3-foot putt by 2009 US Open winner Lucas Glover throughout Thursday’s first spherical of the event. American Specific Competitors. However as you possibly can see – maybe – there may be extra. Or is it much less? On the putt, Glover retrieved his blade once more with a fast wrist flip, then moved it ahead with one other flip, and his ball rolled in.
Though now you could have extra questions…
Has Lucas Glover been put this manner earlier than?
sure, Most notably in final yr’s Honda Traditionalbecause it was recorded and shared on-line very like this week’s state of affairs, and you may check out that under.
Is it authorized?
On Hit Honda, we dug into this. Briefly, sure, and Here is what we wrote:
Beneath Rule 10.1you will see “Stroke” outlined as follows:
The stroke is made by putting considerably with the ball with the pinnacle of the membership. The first problem is to direct and management the motion of your entire membership by swinging the membership freely with out clamping it.
Within the related language underneath 10.1a/1the principles specify three strategies that don’t represent a “hit”:
– A participant punches a brief putt by hitting the ball with the underside of the membership head, utilizing a movement much like that used to strike a ball in billiards or shuffleboard. Transfer the ball like this push.
– the participant strikes the membership alongside the floor of the earth and pulls it in the direction of it. Transferring the ball on this method is a scratch.
– The participant slides a racket underneath the ball and really near the ball. Then the participant lifts and strikes the ball utilizing a ahead and up movement. Transferring the ball like it is a scoop.
Which brings us again to Glover. After dropping Honda, a small group of commentators on social media speculated that the hit was extra of a push, which ought to have constituted a one-shot penalty. And though it might seem like this to the bare eye, while you decelerate the video, you possibly can see the smallest background oscillations. You too can see Glover’s arms shifting (barely), implying that this was a respectable stroke by the principles of golf, half and sq..
It is a step yip. Golf Digest Luke Kerr-Dineen expertly notes which Glover has put “historically” on no less than two different events on American Specific Thursdays, and the query requested was an anomaly. Though it was no less than underneath Some management. In spite of everything, there was this one from Glover:
After all, it wasn’t all the time like that. Glover was a world class participant. Apart from profitable the Open Championship, he additionally gained the 2005 Funai Traditional and the 2011 Wells Fargo Championship. However then golf obtained into his head, as a result of that is what golf does.
However Glover labored at it, like Properly described by Michael Bamberger right here. And Glover gained once more, in 2021 on the John Deere Traditional.
Nonetheless, there’s a quote in Bamberger’s article, that maybe sums up our query higher. It comes from Glover’s agent, Mac Barnhardt.
“You possibly can’t heal from springs—everybody has them. However you possibly can cut back them.”
And on Thursday, Glover hit the ball.