2023 Lee County Games Hall of Fame Inductees Announcement | News, sports, jobs

The Lee County Faculty District has introduced its 2023 Lee County Athletic Convention Corridor of Fame. 5 athletes, three coaches and one contributor have been honored for excellent athletic achievement for his or her faculty or scholar.

The 2023 Lee County Convention Sports activities Corridor of Fame options:


• Kevin Brown, North Fort Myers Excessive

• Kerry Jewett-Giles, Dunbar Excessive

• Shane McClanahan, Cape Coral Excessive

• Kyle Miller, Estero Hay

• Josh Sheridan, Fort Myers Excessive


• Larry Gary, Cape Coral and Lehigh Senior Excessive

• Loretta Borich, North Fort Myers Excessive

• James (C) Reed, Cypress Lake Excessive


• David LaRosa, Fort Myers Excessive Faculty

Kevin Brown: Kevin was a three-time all-conference, three-time all-district and second all-state participant in North baseball. Throughout his four-year profession as a starter for the Miami Hurricanes, he helped lead the group to the 1999 and 2001 nationwide championships. Kevin nonetheless holds the document for the best whole slugging share in Faculty World Sequence historical past and is a two-time All Faculty World Sequence group member. He will even be inducted into the College of Miami Sports activities Corridor of Fame this spring.

Keri Jewett-Giles: Kerry was named Information-Press Participant of the Yr in her sophomore, junior, and senior seasons at Dunbar Excessive Faculty. She was additionally chosen to the primary group for all of her junior and senior seasons. Kerry performed for FGCU the place she was named to the ASUN Convention’s All-Decade Staff and achieved a FGCU Division I profession mediocre document. She was additionally named ASUN Participant of the Yr. Kerry later went overseas to play skilled basketball.

Shane McClanahan: Drafted by the Tampa Bay Rays within the first spherical (thirty first) of the MLB June 2018 Beginner Draft from the College of South Florida, Shane was a Information-Press Finalist of the Yr and Information-Press 1st Staff All-Space. He represented the district within the FHSAA Senior State All-Star Sport. The Tampa Bay Rays named Shane their Opening Day starter in 2022, and later that season, he was named the MLS beginning pitcher within the All-Star recreation.

Kyle Miller: Kyle was named to the Information-Press All Decade Excessive Faculty baseball group in Might 2020. He was the 2012 Information-Press Participant of the Yr after a stable senior marketing campaign going 9-0 with a 0.58 ERA and 98 strikeouts to steer Estero Excessive Faculty in a successful streak of 25 video games led to a regional last. Miller performed at Florida Atlantic College and was drafted by the Chicago Cubs.

Josh Sheridan: Josh was a two-time state wrestling champion in 1999 and 2000, a two-time AAU nationwide wrestling champion and two-time state runner-up in 1997 and 1998. He was Florida 2A Wrestler of the Yr in 2000, a three-time USA Wrestling Journal All-American and Rotary Scholar/Athlete of the Yr in 2000. Josh additionally excelled within the class as a Nationwide Advantage Scholarship Finalist with a 4.69 highschool grade level common.

Larry Gary: Coach Gary was named Lee County’s first black soccer coach in 1994. In over 36 seasons, Gary has helped tons of of scholars play in school. He has additionally coached and mentored 13 NFL gamers. Earlier than returning to teaching at Cape Coral Excessive Faculty this 12 months, Gary compiled a document of 64-59 whereas at Lehigh Excessive Faculty Senior and former Cape Coral Excessive Faculty.

Loretta Borich: Loretta has coached cross nation for 28 years and tracked for 27 years at North Fort Myers Excessive Faculty. She based the primary Lee County Ladies Meet in 1990. In 2015, Loretta was named Florida Athletic Trainers Affiliation Coach of the Yr. Her groups had been Cross Nation champions in 1997 and 1998 and regional champions in 1997. She led the women’ cross nation group to a number of high ten finishes in state competitors.

James “Jim” Reed: If ever there was a pioneer of volleyball in Southwest Florida, it will actually be Coach Reed. Arriving in Cypress Lake within the late Nineteen Seventies, Reed shortly established Cypress Lake as a neighborhood and statewide powerhouse and maintained that dominance for 14 years. His group stats are spectacular: 14 years as a volleyball coach; 11 South Florida Convention Championships; undefeated seasons in 1978, 1979, 1980, 1981, and 1982; regional champions in 1981 and 1982; Final 4 begins in 1981 and 1982 and state champion in 1981.

David LaRosa: David labored 37 years at Lee County Faculty District, 11 years as a instructor/coach, seven years as athletic director at two totally different excessive colleges, one 12 months as an assistant principal and 13 years as principal, 12 of which had been at Fort Myers Excessive Faculty. He’s the primary ever director of athletics within the colleges district, having overseen athletics throughout all the excessive colleges and center colleges. He’s a member of the FHSAA Board of Administrators the place he’s the President-elect. He was a District 13 consultant on the board of administrators of the Florida Colleges Athletic Officers Affiliation.

The trainees can be honored at a banquet scheduled for Thursday, April 20 on the Crowne Plaza Resort. The banquet will start at 6 p.m. and tickets can be found for buy for $25 per individual.

The Crowne Plaza is positioned at 13051 Bell Tower Drive in Fort Myers. These involved in buying tickets ought to contact the sports activities district workplace at 239-335-1479.

Leave a Comment